How to published a novel: Notes on Jejak Hati

I have cold today. And what’s the best thing to do when you have cold?Blogging off course🙂

No. Really. I just received farewell email from my editor… and I thought, oh my god I haven’t even blogs about Jejak Hati yet. Not that I have to, but Jejak Hati will never exist without a poke from this editor 2 years ago.

Few years earlier Jia Effendi was Loversus editor. When she moved to another publishing house, she called me and asked if I had manuscript she can read and maybe to publish. At the time I was working on Eksistensi Rasa that I had planned as the next book after Konstelasi Rindu. But at the time KR hasn’t even on printed yet. And I looked at my neglected planned manuscript file. “I don’t have new manuscript right now, but I have some neglected book plans…” I said.

And the rest is history.🙂 No. Kidding.

We talked, and then she gave me a week to polished this book plan.

I send her 3 or 4 first chapters and a synopsis/plan for the rest chapter. She said, “Interesting.” And she expected a progress on the next two weeks.

I finished the first draft in less than 2 months. There’s still a series of editing/ rewriting sessions with Jia and other Gagasmedia editor (Gita Romadhona cs) after that. One and half year later the manuscript finally hit the bookstore.

Jejak Hati (photo by. Kiki the owner of KoleksiKikie)
Jejak Hati (photo by. Kiki – owner of koleksikikie.com / blogkoleksikikie.wordpress.com)

I never thought I will ever going to write this kind of fiction as Jejak Hati.

I was always wanted to write about Borneo diamond mining and the culture around it. I read books (sent by Ersa my high school classmate), research papers (sent by Zulfaizal Putera, a (not my) high school teacher (who just moved to other post in culture department)), journals and some other stuff relates to it. But the reason this idea never become a real book because I thought it’s really hard to put them all together in one single novel without being experimental. And for something experimental I was ready to spend 5 or 8 years writing it. So I was dormant even though I have piles of book about diamond mining.

It was Jia’s background as a writer (she wrote some absurd short stories and I love that she once write about Toraja culture, and that Dangdut singer for FTV) that convinced me to finally give this idea another try. I thought, maybe Jia will understand this.

So I wrote it.

And she liked it.

And I’m grateful for that.

Although Jia resigned as Gagasmedia editor now, I hope we can still worked together in the future. (But mostly I’m secretly waiting for her novel🙂 )

Oh, some reader labelled Jejak Hati  as romance, culture, fantasy… I don’t even know which one is the correct term. For me it’s just a novel. (Maybe i was influenced by Gaiman a little? I don’t know. No one mention him though.)  Anyway if the reader happen to read this. Thank you all so much!

XOXO

FH

(Ps. To some book blogger who read and reviewed my book. I hope you guys don’t mind me putting the link below :*

Oh ya, ada yang bertanya-tanya apa saya jual batu Akik. Jawabannya tidak. Pas terbit malah ada yang nanya . “Kok pas banget sih, terbitnya pas lagi musim batu Akik?” Jawab gue. “Hah?”

Trus ada yang kecewa karena ngebandingin sama Konstelasi Rindu. Jawaban saya, they are two different books. Sorry if this one is not for you. Thank you for reading. I appreciate your honesty :* … )

Some of the links are below:

– Jejak Hati by Bacaan Inge

– Jejak Hati by Glasses & Tea

– Jejak Hati by Kamo

– Jejak Hati by Kikie (where i borrow the pict above😉 )

5 thoughts on “How to published a novel: Notes on Jejak Hati

  1. Wah! Nggak sabar pengen baca jejak hati. Semoga adikku dapet visa jadi aku bisa titip dibawain summer ini.. =D
    Oh, Jia pindah kemana Fa?
    Get well soon ya Fa! Ditunggu Eksistensi Rasa-nya.. *no pressure hoho*

  2. Hehe okay, no pressure. 😜
    Adikmu tanggal berapa berangkatnya Shita?
    Jia, gak pergi kemana-mana. Tapi dimana pun dia bakal tetep eksis deh. Editor. Penterjemah. Penulis. She’ll be around…

Leave a Reply

