author of the year

As Neil Gaiman was my 2011 ‘author of the year’, for 2012 it goes to John Green.

The Fault in Our Star is his first book I read. (I was actually trying to find Paper Town a year before but the local bookstore didn’t have it, and I kept his name on my wish list until The Fault in Our Star comes out.) The story made me cry and laugh. I’m admiring John Green’s ability to write such a story. About kids with cancer I never imagine I would read. Lev Grossman on TIME said (which said it better than me)  “It’s funny, but it’s not clever or overly impressed with itself. Above all, The Fault in Our Stars is fearless in the face of powerful, uncomplicated, unironized emotion, which is a very different thing from sentimentality. (It has been years since this jaded critic has shed tears over a novel, but I will cop to crying over this one.) While the prevailing trend in young-adult novels is toward supernatural romance and dystopian science fiction, Green dispenses with magic and with our dismal totalitarian future. He doesn’t need them. For his purposes, love is magic, and the present is dystopian enough as it is.”

The fault in Our Stars, successfully lead me to read all other books he ever written (except Let it Snow). Yes, I read Looking for Alaska, Will Grayson Will Grayson, An Abundace of Katherines & Paper Town finally.

Chris Colfer that kid from Glee said on BEA Breakfast Confrence “John Green is a Justin Bieber in a literary world!” Probably for his popularity among teenagers with his millions Twitter followers & thousands Youtube channel subscribers.

One fellow Indonesian teenlit (teen literature)  author Ken Terate once write in her blog, about how many of her friend didn’t take her job seriously. They suggest her to write a real novel. Something what people her age would read. Similar things happened to me as well. Not only once people also suggest me to write seriously. As like what I’ve done wasn’t serious. They expect me to write literary historical fiction (I’ve tried that actually, I still keep them on my computer)

I don’t want to put limitation to my self, to write just for one genre, I look up to Neil Gaiman who write picture books for toddler, graphic novel for Children & ‘serious’ novel for adult and Indonesia has Clara Ng for that matter, but John Green with his teenage armies makes me thinking that ‘you’re doing something matter ‘even though’ your reader is teenager’.

Reading while they’re young  is one important stage in a life of a reader. And I remember it wasn’t reading AA.Navis or NH.Dini (or those literary book on your must-read-because-your-teacher-said-so) that I’m enjoying the most when I was teenager. It was reading Gola Gong, Hilman & Zara Zettira that keeps me craving for more books.

Reading all John Green Book (-1) this year has remind me to be proud of what I’m doing. (Yes I’m an adult who read all your books John Green!)

Books, whoever you write for are matter.

John Green book listed on Children’s book New York Times best selling list.

If you don’t know him already, watch him talking in Carniegie Hall below.

(Apparently I’m also an author, who likes listening other author talking ^_^)

Warning: there’s Neil Gaiman at 1:51:00

Ps.

– My friends and I just self-published this anthology book.

Image

Go buy it here.

– A novel expected to be published by traditional publisher later this year.

Happy belated New Year ^_^

2 thoughts on “author of the year

  1. I haven’t read this oneeeee! *berasa baru keluar dari gua*
    I…kind of feeling the same thing, actually. Well, you know, working as a lecturer, my colleagues expect me to read scholarly journal articles all the time, while I prefer to read YA fantasy books in my spare time. (OMG I even fell in love head over heels with Percy Jackson!). And though I am not a professional writer like you, sometimes I write, and yeah, not that “serious” genre that my colleagues will take seriously. I try not to care. I find joy and pleasure in writing it. And I even find it more satisfying when I happen to know that somebody really read my stories. I literally sobbed when I had a message in my Tumblr ask box, saying that she likes my story and I should continue writing.

  2. It is indeed very touching when strangers come up to you or emailed you and said they relate to the story you wrote..

    Just ignore those people who bugging you and yes you should CONTINUE what you LOVE doing.

Leave a Reply

