PreReading American Gods

Just purchased a copy of American Gods by Neil Gaiman. It’s the 10th anniversary edition, with extra material: The Monarch of the Glen, an American Gods Novella & the twitter interview & new author introduction.

The ‘twitter interview’ from SFX magazine dated 11 April 2011. And today is 24 June! I’m so exciting, because I never hold a book so fresh-from-the-oven before! (beside my own books. And my husband’s books. And some gift books from other authors  & publisher… this is a long list btw ^_^)

I don’t know what to expect from this book. I just missed reading another Neil Gaiman craft since the last time I finished The Graveyard Book. As Neil Gaiman said on the introduction, reader of this book either loved it or hated it. I just hope I wont ended on the ‘hated it’ list.🙂

There is one line I love  on the introduction about Neil conversation with Gene Wolfe. (I think it’s about 19 years ago) When he was just done with his first draft, he asked Gene if he know any wisest writer who had written excellent novels for he felt the need to learn from. And Gene told him,

“You never learn how to write a novel.

You only learn to write the novel you’re on.”

Years later Neil realized: Gene was right!

And I think they’re right! (Although I’ve only been here for 5 years, I’m just a toddler!😀)  Just thinking, its the thing that I loved the most from writing: I got to learn something new as I write… every single page, every single word…

Nb.

This American Gods has 658 pages. I may need ages to finish it.  I’ll write my review when I’m done, not very soon for sure 🙂

14 thoughts on “PreReading American Gods

  1. I’ve heard a LOT of great things about American Gods and plan to read it someday. My husband loved it! Now he reads all Gaiman’s stuff.

  2. @Alexis : This is 6th Neil Gaiman book i read. Can I say i’m addicted? I may be ended buy all his novel but not all available in Indonesian bookstores. Some of his book been translated into Indonesian, but i prefer the original. My favorite so far coraline. Because it’s short and left me terrified😀 Can’t imagine the children who read it.

  3. @Jay Miller: Yeah… I wish!!! 😀
    I live in Jakarta if you didn’t know, sending books from UK (The American Gods i purchased printed in UK btw) may cost a lot more money than the price of the book 😀

  4. Farah, I didn’t read Coraline but I saw the film in 3D and it was adorable (and disturbing, too, of course.) I figure I’ll read the book once the details from the movie fade a bit from my memory. And maybe I’ll have to check Gaiman out sooner than later in other regards. Do they carry both the Indonesian edition and the original English copy at your local bookstores or do you have to have the originals shipped?

  5. @Alexis: I saw the trailer of the movie, I don’t think i could watch it in 3D, reading the book disturbing enough for me😀

    For Gaiman books, local bookstores sell both original and translated version, but sometimes they’re weeks or months behind. But this last book I purchased in an international bookstore, they only sell books published in English. They also available for books order & we should wait few days for it shipped from abroad.

  6. “You never learn how to write a novel. You only learn to write the novel you’re on.”

    This is very true. I’m starting rewrites on my third novel, and is definitely its own adventure.

    I should read American Gods. The only Gaiman book I’ve ever read was Neverwhere, which was adapted from a script. I read all of his Sandman comics when they were coming out and I really liked them, though I thought they weren’t quite as good as some people thought. Similar to Watchmen, a lot of people who praised them the most weren’t actually all that familiar with the comic book field as a whole. That being said, though, it was generally very good.

  7. Oh i’m so late replying your comments but i’ll do it anyway..🙂

    Anthony Lee: why did you rewrite your novel? btw i haven’t read any Gaiman’s comic. I never met one… I don’t think it sells here.

    Kim: You can start with Coraline, It’s very short novel. Actually it’s children novel, but I LOVED IT!

    Rexkyoko: No’ i’m not Judging you! I know you’re comic geek😉

    Ernit: Hey dear! Hows your writing?

  8. Welcome back. 🙂

    I’m rewriting because I want it to stand alone, rather than now, when you have to have read the novel before to understand it. It’s a sequel, but I don’t want it to depend on the earlier one so much.

Leave a Reply

