What My Unlikely Sunday Taught Me About Writing

mask on venice

Sunday evening one of my neighbors came to my house. We have a small chat about the latest issue in our neighborhood.

So there was robbery-using-hypnosis-method happened in our block the day before. There was a visitor came to one house, hypnotic the daughter of the house owner and stole a laptop. Apparently the same suspected person also tried to do the same thing on another house in the same block. (Our block consist about 12 houses)

After the Sunday noon accident, this news just completed my Sunday horror. My husband flied to another city in the morning and I’ll be alone with my son for the next couple days.

That night I was still in shocked.  The blood on the floor had been cleaned up but my mind kept rolled the image, I could remember the smell of the blood. And the latest conversation just left me terrified.

Thanks God, I have this writing mentor whose been studied about Milton Erickson hypnosis for the last couple years. So I contacted him via email told him about the hypnotic issue around my neighborhood. He replied me a couple hours later with an explanation how hypnotic crime worked and how to avoid it.

So, person who did hypnotic crime usually used ‘shock’ to led the victim into whatever they want. Shock by sudden slap on the shoulder or speak random sentences to made the victim minds loads of information and got confused. When people shock or confused their mind will be blank for a second. This is the perfect time to give them suggestion as like to sleep or asked their money, laptop or anything the perpetrator order them to do.

Okay, you might wondering now, what all these things has something to do with writing?

Well I have read somewhere that the biggest selling novel is adventure and suspense genre. What these genres have in common?

Shocking events.

Surprises.

There a tons of surprises on adventure and suspense novel.

If you’re a writer or writer wannabe you must have been read one writing advice that said give your reader surprise.

Now we know why that advice is damn TRUE.  It’s because the moment after shocks/surprises is the golden moment to give our reader ‘order’ to read more our writing, next chapter, next book, whatever we want them to do more.

So let’s worked on surprises! Spell bind the readers!

5 thoughts on “What My Unlikely Sunday Taught Me About Writing

  1. This is wild. I never knew about this hypnotic crime thing. Do you know of articles about this?

    As for surprise, I’ve just been thinking of this, of a surprise in the story I’m planning now (a surprise for the reader and the characters).

    I’ll say no more, of course. 🙂

  2. That’s really interesting. First thing I’ve read about it.

    You can tell the writer is being vague about how it’s done because otherwise it would be telling more people how to do it.

    I’m thinking there could be a mystery story about this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

