Currently Reading

So glad, I got tagged by smilesanddreams for this reading game so I have something to write for updating this blog ^_^

And here are the rules:

  1. Take a picture of the books you are reading currently and add them to   your post.
  2. Describe the books and if you are enjoying them
  3. For every book you are reading, you have to tag one person.
  4. Leave the person a comment letting them know you tagged them.

Well one of the books I currently reading  is an ebook. So I decided to take a picture of my bookshelf The one that wasn’t too messy to show… (But still, there are some tea box there… LOL… I’m such a mess…)

 

And the books I currently reading are…

1. The Bell Jar, Sylvia Plath

I’m not native English speaker. So I’m very happy when I found a book that not really much talking about abstract things, the book that really “show instead of tell”.  I can see Sylvia Plath has a very strong writing style. I love how she described something.

I haven’t finish reading it yet, but I’m curious about the main character. The girl (Esther) seems very chill, I mean she described about woman deliver a baby, (she saw it for the first time btw) in a delivery room, like ‘scissor close to the woman’s skin like cloth’, red bright bloods, blue baby, sew needle, and she explained it just like talking about sundae ice cream. What’s wrong with this girl?…. Okay, don’t tell.  To be honest this is the kind of scene that I would absolutely close my eyes when I saw on the movie. I can’t even stand seeing a lion kill other animal on ‘those animal TV channel’ Thanks God I’m just reading it. But still…

I hope I don’t get trauma after reading this book. I have no plan to drop this yet. The character just too interesting…

2. The Help, Kathryn Stockett

I’m kinda embarrassed to admit this. But I started reading this book like two months ago and haven’t finished it. But I’m trying to. Although I know there are many ‘intentional grammatical error’. I notice it’s just the style of the character (since it using many characters who talked from first point of view). Sometimes it’s just bothering me.

This book is about maid, and black people right. Set in Missisipi in the sixties, when colored people still became second class society in States. The only reason I read this book because there are so many great reviews out there, and it sold in one Indonesian flagship store that mainly sold foreign books. (Not all foreign books sold in Indonesian bookstore btw) So I think this book worth to read. I’m still trying to finish it up.

So that’s all i’m currently reading right now.

To pass this game on, I tag: Renxkyoko and Anthony

2 thoughts on “Currently Reading

  1. No camera, so no pix, but I’m reading:

    The Bostonians by Henry James (I’ve been reading it for a while, but I keep interrupting myself to read something else — I’ve read it before so I’m not going to lose the plot)

    The complete Sherlock Holmes (the “canon”) from beginning to end. Which I’ve also read before.

    Then, at some point, I will read Infinite Jest, which I just bought. People keep comparing it to Pynchon, so I feel I should try it.

Leave a Reply

